Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again

A waterline of 160 kilometres runs through North-Brabant. With an ingenious system of dikes and locks, citizens used to be able to flood the area to stop hostile armies. This military heritage is nowadays practically buried in the landscape. To draw people’s attention back to it, the province relied on Connect.

Question

In recent years, we have worked hard to motivate the fortified cities, forts and nature conservators to chart the waterline as a whole. Since that has been successful, it is time for the second phase: draw residents and tourists’ attention back to the waterline. At the same time, a cooperation between the 25 partners must be structured. In addition to strategic public communications, there was also a demand for partner communications.

Approach

Despite the enthusiasm and involvement of the partners, the project remained merely theoretical. How do you create a strong branding policy plan? We advised to focus on two aspects: heritage and sustainable tourism. The Southern Waterline brand can convey the meaning of the heritage to the target group. This focus was elaborated into a complete communications strategy.

The Southern Waterline will be Brabant’s sign of the European Heritage Year in 2018.

Result

After the strategy was approved, the implementation phase started. We’re currently working on a new website, intranet, markings in the field, a tourist guide and a social media campaign. All to ensure that the Southern Waterline makes a good impression during the European Heritage Year in 2018.

Facts & Figures

  • With 14 fortified cities, 13 forts and a length of 160 kilometres, the Southern Waterline is the largest area in the Netherlands that was flooded for defence.
  • The waterline area itself has over 840,000 residents, whom we can surprise with the heritage in their backyard.
  • In the year 1700, the settlement architect Menno van Coehoorn joined the various cities and fortifications to the Southern Waterline.
Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again Brabant’s military heritage rises above water again

Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau

Le Brabant-Septentrional possède une ligne d’eau de 160 kilomètres. Grâce à un système ingénieux de digues et d’écluses, les riverains pouvaient inonder la région et arrêter les armées ennemies. Actuellement, ce patrimoine militaire est caché par le paysage. Pour le rendre visible, la Province a appelé à l’aide Connect.

Question

Ces dernières années, nous avons travaillé dur afin d’encourager les villes fortifiées, les forts et les organismes de protection de la nature à cartographier l’ensemble de la ligne d’eau. Après le succès de cette étape, la deuxième phase a pu commencer : sensibiliser les résidents et les touristes au projet. Dans un même temps, la collaboration avec les 25 partenaires a été structurée. En plus d’une communication stratégique externe, il y avait un réel besoin de communication envers les partenaires.

Approche

Malgré l’enthousiasme et l’implication des partenaires, le projet était dénué de tout fondement. Comment transformer une politique pleine d’objectifs sociaux en une marque forte ? Nous avons conseillé de mettre l’accent sur deux aspects : le patrimoine et le tourisme durable. La marque «Zuiderwaterlinie » peut transmettre la notion d’héritage au groupe cible qui est à la base de l’élaboration d’une stratégie de communication globale.

Zuiderwaterlinie sera la vitrine brabançonne de l’Année européenne du patrimoine culturel en 2018.

Résultat

Après la sélection de la stratégie, la mise en œuvre a commencé. Nous travaillons actuellement sur un nouveau site web, un intranet, un balisage sur le terrain, un guide touristique et une campagne sur les réseaux sociaux. Ainsi, Zuiderwaterlinie fera une forte impression au cours de l’Année européenne du patrimoine culturel en 2018.

Facts & Figures

  • Avec 14 villes fortifiées, 13 forts et 160 kilomètres, Zuiderwaterlinie est la plus grande zone des Pays-Bas mise à l’eau pour la défense.
  • La zone de la ligne emploie elle-même plus de 840 000 habitants, que nous pouvons surprendre avec le patrimoine dans leur arrière-cour.
  • À partir de l’année 1700, l’architecte de la forteresse Menno van Coehoorn a relié les différentes villes et forts jusqu’à Zuiderwaterlinie.
Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau Le patrimoine militaire du Brabant à nouveau sur l’eau