Launch of mileage tax for trucks in Belgium

Since the 1st of April, 2016, all truck owners with a maximum allowed weight of 3.5 tonnes, have to pay a mileage tax in Belgium. Communicating broadly and internationally was a critical factor for success for the implementation of the tax. Satellic plc, the organization that installed the tax system and manages it, reached out to Connect for help.

Question

The mileage tax is based on the principle of ‘who uses it, pays for it’: Belgian truck drivers, but also their German, Slovakian and Spanish colleagues. Communicating to such a broad and international group calls for a particular expertise and a large use of resources. Satellic asked Connect to support the communications team in the period before, during and after the system’s launch.

Approach

With an intensive in-house approach, our advisors guided Satellic’s communications team. For example, we guided the elaboration of domestic and foreign information campaigns, we managed Satellic’s website and we developed the extensive text material in multiple languages. We also advised Satellic in its approach to public affairs.

Thanks to the front-office approach, it was almost as if Connect was a part of Satellic’s communications team.

Result

The devices that calculate the mileage tax are called ‘On Board Units’. On the 1st of April, 2016 – the day the system was implemented – more than 400,000 of these ‘On Board Units’ were distributed in Belgium and the rest of Europe; clear evidence that the intense communications with different stakeholders had the desired effect.

 

Images source: Satellic

Facts & Figures

  • Each day, 130,000 to 140,000 vehicles that have an ‘On Board Unit’, are using the Belgian road network.
  • Every business day, the mileage tax yields 2.4 million euros. These profits go to the three Belgian regions: the Flemish region, the Walloon region and the region of Brussels.
  • By the end of 2016, a total of 600,000 ‘On Board Units’ had already been distributed.
Launch of mileage tax for trucks in Belgium Launch of mileage tax for trucks in Belgium Launch of mileage tax for trucks in Belgium

Lancement de la taxe kilométrique pour les camions en Belgique

Depuis le 1er avril 2016, en Belgique, tous les propriétaires de camions d’une masse maximale autorisée de 3,5 tonnes sont tenus de payer une taxe kilométrique. Une communication large et internationale a été un facteur important du succès pour l’introduction de la taxe. Satellic S.A, qui a installé et utilisé le système de charge, a consulté Connect.

Question

Les frais de kilométrage sont basés sur le principe d’utilisateur-payeur. Cette taxe s’applique par conséquent à tous les chauffeurs routiers belges et aussi à leurs collègues allemands, slovaques et espagnols. Communiquer avec un public aussi large et international exige une expertise particulière et beaucoup de ressources. Satellic a donc sollicité Connect pour soutenir l’équipe de communication avant, pendant et après le lancement du système.

Approche

Grâce à un travail intensif, nos conseillers ont soutenu l’équipe de communication de Satellic. De cette façon, nous avons aidé au développement de campagnes d’information nationales et étrangères, nous avons géré le site Web de Satellic et développé les supports en plusieurs langues. Nous avons également conseillé Satellic dans sa stratégie de communication externe.

Grâce au travail en front office, on peut dire que Connect faisait partie intégrante de l’équipe de communication de Satellic.

Résultat

Les boîtiers satellitaires sont des dispositifs permettant de calculer les frais de kilométrage. Le 1er Avril, 2016, le jour de l’introduction du système, plus de 400 000 de ces boîtiers satellitaires ont été distribués en Belgique et dans le reste de l’Europe. Ces chiffres constituent une réelle preuve de l’effet d’une communication intense.

 

Toutes les images source : Satellic

 

Facts & Figures

  • Chaque jour, sur le réseau routier belge 130 000 à 140 000 véhicules circulent avec boîtier satellitaire.
  • La taxe kilométrique rapportera 2,4 millions d’euros par jour ouvrable. Ces revenus sont perçus par les trois Régions.
  • Au total, plus de 600 000 boîtiers satellitaires ont été distribuées à la fin de 2016.
Lancement de la taxe kilométrique pour les camions en Belgique Lancement de la taxe kilométrique pour les camions en Belgique Lancement de la taxe kilométrique pour les camions en Belgique